Title: Something in the Way
Author: Jessica Hawkins
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 27, 2017

 

Blurb

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents’ house. Under the sweat and dirt, Manning Sutter was as handsome as the sun was bright. He was older, darker, experienced. I wore a smiley-face t-shirt and had never even been kissed. Yet we saw something in each other that would link us in ways that couldn’t be broken…no matter how hard we tried.I loved Manning before I knew the meaning of the word. I was too young, he said. I would wait. Through all the carefully-chosen words hiding what we knew to be true, through his struggle to keep me innocent, and through infinitely-starry nights—I would wait. But I’d learn that life isn’t always fair. That no matter how much you achieve, none of it matters if you suffer the heartbreak that comes with falling for someone you can never have. Because even though I saw Manning first, that didn’t matter. My older sister saw him next.

 

 

Purchase Links

 

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

OUR REVIEW:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Title: Something In The Way
Author: Jessica Hawkins
Category: Romance
Series or Standalone: Series, Book #1
POV: Dual
Plot: 5
Characters: 5
Scorching Level: 5
HEA: Not telling

I have no words. Top favorite. This book was so well written that I read it in a day. Amazing characters, great character development and complex storyline!!!
This book broke me! I fell for the hero and felt for our young, innocent heroine.
1993. Lake is a sweet sixteen year old girl that studies hard and follows her father’s wishes. She is an excellent student and already planning for college. Unspoiled by the modern technology(no internet, no cell phones), she looks up at her sister who is anything that she isn’t. Tiffany is rebelious, gorgeous and certainly not following their father’s footsteps. She has no idea what she wants to do with her life and so she lives it through boys, clothes and make-up.
A hot summer day changes everything. The construction site by their house will be the cause of heartbreak and passion.
Manning is a hardworking young man and he is certainly not looking for trouble when he befriends Lake. Her innocence and youth draws him to her and reminds him of things that are painful. He knows it seems wrong for them to be friends given their age difference but still…
Lake sees in Manning everything she wants to be. For the first time her heart beats faster, for the first time she is aware of her own body and how it reacts to a man. But then, Tiffany comes in and even if Lake saw him first, he can never be hers.
I am completely mesmerized by this book. It ‘s been a day since I finished it and I am still thinking about it. Amazing storyline that will pull at your heartstrings, fully developed, multidimensional characters and a forbidden love story.
Amazing characterization and fully engaging developments made this book a true masterpiece in my book.
A slow burn romance that isn’t rushed. We get to see the characters grow, we see them make mistakes, we get to love them because there is nothing fake about them.
I will admit Tiffany frustrated me to no end, but I saw glimpses of her character that I liked. I detested how she treated Lake but at the same time it was interesting to see the dynamic of their relationship. Lake sees the good in people while Tiffany is able to use others.
Manning was an utterly lovable hero and my new book boyfriend. He was such a responsible character, with a big heart. He was lost and confused when it came to Lake but you could see the depth of his care for the much younger girl. His devotion was astounding!
The book ends in a way that will frustrate you! I cannot wait for May! Do not miss this amazing book. I will be certainly adding it to my special paperback collection!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

 

 

Author Bio

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that’s what you’ll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.

Author Links

DON’T MISS OUT ON ANYTHING JESSICA HAWKINS!

Sign up for her Mailing List!
 
