Search

Lina's Reviews : A Book Blog

Bringing our favorite authors and books to the spotlight.

Release Blitz: Game Saver (Game Series #3) by BJ Harvey

Title: Game Saver

Series: Game Series #3
Author: BJ Harvey
Genre: Romantic Comedy with Heat
Release Date: Available Now
Cover Designer: Najla Qamber Designs
From the USA Today bestselling author of the Bliss series comes book three in a hot new spin off series featuring your favorite Bliss series characters who are yet to meet their match. This time it’s the turn of the hot doctor, Cade Carsen (from Temporary Bliss and Game Player fame) and Abi Cook (from Game Maker.)
How do you know when fake turns real?
Abi Cook lives her life by her own rules. She works hard, plays hard, and knows who she is and where she wants to be. 
Following a repeat one-night stand with the dashing Dr. Cade Carsen, Cade asks Abi for a favor: be the fake girlfriend on his arm for the duration of his father’s mayoral campaign.

Never one to turn down a challenge, she doesn’t hesitate. I mean, who would when all that’s involved is a little fake girlfriending with a side of hot sex, and with Doctor Hottie no less? 

But like any Game, there are always twists and turns, unexpected players, villains, heroes and ultimately, winners and losers. 
Game Saver is the story of what happens when two happily single people try for something less, but end up with something so much more.



“Are you at work already?” I ask, having a brilliant idea of swinging by her place for a quickie.
“Yeah, I’m sitting in my office.”

 

There goes that plan then.
“Is the door closed?” I ask, a rather nice image of Abi taking care of herself in her chair and describing it to me in vivid detail flashing through my mind.

 

“Cade . . .” she warns, but her tone is not cutting. There’s a vein of amusement and a raspy undertone running through it.
I chuckle. “Okay, okay. I’ll behave.”
“Good, because after last night’s efforts, I can still feel where you’ve been and that’s had me at level five all day. You instigating phone sex in my office when I can’t do anything about it for eight hours is just cruel.”

 

My mouth goes dry, and my groin tightens. “You can still feel me?” I ask gruffly, thinking phone sex is another fucking fantastic idea as I scan for the next exit.

 

“Cade, my vagina has had more of a workout in the past week than it’s had in the ten months between visits.”
That grabs my attention. “Ten months?”

 

“Shit,” she mutters. “Forget I said that.”
“There’s no way I’m letting you out of this one. Are you saying you didn’t sleep with anyone else after me?” Why the hell do I like that so. fucking. much?
“I was busy! Doesn’t mean I didn’t give my toy chest a good workout.”
“Yes. The toy chest. Guess what just got scratched onto our to-do list?”

 

“You mean the to-do-me-with list?” she says with a giggle.
“That too.”




BJ Harvey is the USA Today Bestselling Author of the Bliss Series. She also regards herself as a smut peddler, suspense conjurer and a funny romance thinker upper.


An avid music fan, you will always find her singing some hit song badly but loving every minute of it.


She’s a wife, a mom to two beautiful girls, and hails from what she considers as the best country in the world—New Zealand.

 

HOSTED BY:

Excerpt Reveal: The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

TheBachelorAuction11_RGB300 (1)

THE BACHELOR AUCTION
By Rachel Van Dyken
Release Day: Oct 4, 2016

Cinderella never had to deal with this crap.

Jane isn’t entirely sure that Cinderella got such a raw deal. Sure, she had a rough start but didn’t she eventually land a prince and a happily-ever-after? Meanwhile, Jane is busy waiting on her demanding, entitled sisters, running her cleaning business, and . . . yep, not a prince in sight. That is, until a party and a broken shoe incident leave Jane wondering if princes—or at least, a certain deliciously hunky billionaire—maybe do exist.
Except Brock Wellington isn’t anyone’s dream guy. A prince would never agree to be auctioned off in marriage to the highest bidder. Or act like an arrogant jerk—even if that is just a façade. Now, as Brock is waiting for the auction chopping block, he figures it’s karmic retribution that he’s tempted by a sexy, sassy woman he can’t have. But while he and Jane may not get a fairy tale ending, maybe they can indulge in a little bit of fantasy . . .

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2bfKSOy
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2bW1lWV
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2bAhvBG
Amazon AU: http://amzn.to/2bO0JPM
iBooks: http://apple.co/1rtMiaC
B&N: http://bit.ly/1SKyEdn
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2bgINiM
GooglePlay: http://bit.ly/2bNZuQE

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.
She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband, adorable son, and two snoring boxers! She loves to hear from readers!
Want to be kept up to date on new releases? Text MAFIA to 66866!
You can connect with her on Facebook www.facebook.com/rachelvandyken  or join her fan group Rachel’s New Rockin Readers. Her website is www.rachelvandykenauthor.com .
FACEBOOK / TWITTER / GOODREADS / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE / NEWSLETTER

Thick wavy auburn hair fell in disarray over his forehead. It was lush, shiny, perfect. Were guys born with hair like that? Or was his somehow chemically engineered? His full lips pressed together in a secret smile as the equally handsome man next to him said something, then erupted in laughter.
The first man stiffened, then shook his head. His broad shoulders seemed to grow tight as a drum. A slight tic in his jaw was the only clue that he was irritated or maybe outright angry.
And then his shoulders slumped as he was handed another drink and then another.
Nervous. He must be nervous. But what could a man like that possibly have to be nervous about?
He easily towered over most of the men in attendance. Suddenly his posture changed, then he smiled.
Jane felt her mouth drop open in shock.
Dazzling.
He was…like a duke or a lord or a prince from a storybook. Clearly, she read too many romance novels, but his entire presence demanded attention; screamed authority, importance, and sex. Lots and lots of sex.
Yes, his virility was a tangible thing, as if she could reach out and grasp it with her fingertips.
“What are you doing?” Esmeralda yelled in her right ear, interrupting her blatant sexual fantasy about a complete stranger. Great. That’s what her life had come to. And sadly? It was the most fun she’d had all night.
Jane turned to Esmeralda, prayed for patience, and answered. “Sorry, I was just thinking.”
“You’re so boring.” Esmeralda rolled her eyes. “No wonder you got dumped.”
Another fun fact? Esmeralda was mean when she was drunk.
The reminder of the breakup burned like acid.
It had been a year ago, not that it mattered. It still hurt that the last guy she’d dated had told her that although she was cute, she wasn’t really doing it for him anymore.
Right. Doing it.
Maybe that was because she hadn’t done anything for him or with him, and he found that lacking. But they’d only dated for a few weeks. Did normal girls do that? Put out after a few weeks? Apparently.
She wasn’t normal.
But if that was normal, maybe she was better off being strange.
“Jane, are you even listening to me?” Esmeralda whined. “Essence needs you to dance next to her for a bit. I’m tired and tipsy. I want to sit. Plus your dress blends in enough that it won’t take attention away from her.”
No way. What? What had she just said?
Jane wrapped her arms around her middle. “I’m sorry, what?”
Without warning, Esmeralda grabbed Jane’s hand and jerked her toward the dance floor, causing Jane to lose her footing and crash directly into Esmeralda’s back. Then, like a domino, she slammed back into Essence.
Jane opened her mouth to shout out an apology, but Esmeralda was already too drunk to listen to reason. With determination in her eyes, she reached for the pearls at Jane’s neck but grabbed the fabric of the dress instead.
Her poorly sewn dress ripped instantly, causing the fabric to slink past her strapless bra. A diagonal slit split up her thigh almost all the way to her hip. In an effort to cover herself, she took a step and tripped, thanks to her clunky shoes.
And then she fell to the floor.
Hard.
Her sisters watched in horror—but neither of them offered a hand. They were probably kicking themselves for forcing her to come. Esmeralda leaned over but missed Jane’s shoulder by a mile, grabbing her hair and giving it a tug, which only made Jane wince harder.
Both sisters were completely tanked.
And she was less than two minutes away from being trampled by the other sweaty bodies around her.
She glanced up.
And into the eyes of the man she’d just been lusting after.
Oh God, the humiliation was complete.
That one glance told her he’d seen it all. She swallowed back the thickness building in her throat. Of course the only time he’d notice her would be when she’d ripped her dress and nearly took out a few guests on her way down to the dance floor.
The crowd gathered around her.
And the sexy man disappeared—probably off in search of a girl with perfect hair, perfect teeth, perfect clothes.
She really should have stayed home.
Tears filled her eyes as a heel pressed into her right hand. With a jerk she tugged her hand free, struggling to get up to stand on her wobbly feet, when suddenly she was pulled to a standing position and then swept up in strong arms.
Jane’s eyes were still so blurry from unshed tears she couldn’t make out the man’s face as he carried her out of the crowd.
He smelled like heaven.
She fought the insane urge to press her face against his chest and just…close her eyes.
Because he felt safe.
Pathetic, when a stranger’s arms provided more safety than her own family. And yet he felt…right.
In a world where things for the past ten years had felt so wrong.
He felt right.
Maybe she’d had too much champagne.

Cover Reveal: Owning Destiny

FB_IMG_1470454325446FB_IMG_1472184051615

OWNING DESTINY by Shelly Morgan
Forsaken Sinners MC Series, Book #5
Release Date: Sept. 20, 2016
Cover Designer: Redbird Designs
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Tagline: Life is like riding a bike…take it by the handle bars and own that shit.
ABOUT THE BOOK: Mack DeVin has always been hard, in charge, and unstoppable…As president of the Forsaken Sinners MC, Mack has a reputation to uphold and a family to protect, but when a bullet puts him in the hospital, everything is ripped away. Unable to walk and lead his club, Mack starts to lose hope that he’ll get better. That is until a spitfire of a nurse walks into his room. Nurse Rose isn’t threatened by him and pushes him to his limits. She gives him hope that he can get his life back.Rose Chamberlain hates motorcycle gangs and everything about them. That includes their President…Rose’s brother Anthony is a member of The Street Kings MC, known for violence and never taking no for an answer. She makes it a point to stay away from him and any other gang member, including her patient. Except she can’t seem to say no to Mack. The more she gives in to him, the more she realizes he’s nothing like her hothead brother.But a deal has been made, and payment is due…Anthony has promised his sister to The Street Kings President in return for a promotion. He kidnaps Rose from the life she’s built and the man she’s starting to love. The Street Kings better be ready to pay for their mistake because Mack is back in charge of the Forsaken Sinners and he’s willing to fight for what he wants…But is Rose ready to become any man’s old lady? Or will she walk away from them all forever and make her own destiny?

MEET AUTHOR SHELLY MORGAN: I grew up in a small town in Iowa. I have 2 older sisters and amazing parents. Growing up, I was always a daddy’s girl, hanging out with him in the garage, fishing, and building stuff. I loved to play softball and swimming, but reading, telling stories, and writing were my passion, even at a young age. I took a break from writing for a while, but you could always find me with a book in my hand.

I have three children – two boys and a girl. They are my whole world. Even when I’m having the worst day ever, they brighten up my day and make me smile.

A few years ago, there was this story that would always play out in my head and no matter how many times I went through it, from beginning to end, it would never fade. So I decided to put it on paper. I didn’t plan on publishing it, but when it was almost done, a friend asked to read it. She said it was a story that needed to be shared. And that’s what started my writing career.

I love all genres of books, and even though I started with writing MC Romance, I have a whole book of ideas, so you can expect more from me than just MC, though romance is in my blood.

Even though I currently work two jobs, my ultimate dream is to become a full time author. I want to be able to spend my days filling pages with stories. I want to be the reason people find a reason to smile or laugh from lines on a page. Reading a book allows me to live in someone else’s shoes, even if only for a few minutes. It’s a way to leave my life and troubles behind and I want to be help others do that as well.

LIMITLESS PUBLISHING: http://www.limitlesspublishing.net/authors/shelly-morgan/
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/Author-Shelly-Morgan-809266812448318/
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10914599.Shelly_Morgan
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Shelly_Morgan34
Website: Www.authorshellymorgan.com

Cover Reveal: Lauren Blakely’s FULL PACKAGE & JOY STICK

From the NYT Bestselling author of BIG ROCK and MISTER O, comes two brand new, hot and hilarious standalone romantic comedies…

FULL PACKAGE and JOY STICK!

 

FPANDJSCOVERREVEAL

Readers will find witty dialogue, smoking hot sex scenes, and heartfelt moments in these side-splitting romantic comedies, mixed with the dirty-talking, gifted heroes we’ve come to love from Lauren Blakely! FULL PACKAGE is set to release on January 9, 2017, and JOY STICK is coming your way in May 2017! Check out these fantastic covers designed by Helen Williams with photography by Rob Lang.

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00023]

 

From the New York Times Bestselling author of MISTER O and BIG ROCK, comes a hot & hilarious new standalone romantic comedy…

I’ve been told I have quite a gift.

Hey, I don’t just mean in my pants. I’ve got a big brain too, and a huge heart of gold. And I like to use all my gifts to the fullest, the package included. Life is smooth sailing….

Until I find myself stuck between a rock and a sexy roommate, which makes for one very hard…place.

Because scoring an apartment in this city is harder than finding true love. So even if I have to shack up with my buddy’s smoking hot and incredibly amazing little sister, a man’s got to do what a man’s got to do.

I can resist Josie. I’m disciplined, I’m focused, and I keep my hands to myself, even in the mere five-hundred square feet we share. Until the one night she insists on sliding under the covers with me. It’ll help her sleep after what happened that day, she says.

Surprise—neither one of us sleeps.

And even though we agree to return to roomies-without-benefits, I quickly realize I want more than someone to split the utilities with. Now all I want is to spend every night—and every day—with my gorgeous roommate.

Did I mention she’s also one of my best friends? That she’s brilliant, beautiful and a total firecracker? Guess that makes her the full package too.

What’s a man stuck in a hard place to do?

 

FINALFULLPACKAGEJACKETSMALLER

Pre-Order FULL PACKAGE (Releasing January 9, 2016)

iBooks http://tinyurl.com/FullPackageLB

Barnes and Noble http://bit.ly/2b7fWxj

Amazon Paperback http://amzn.to/2avft4u

Kobo http://bit.ly/2aA43gp

GooglePlay https://goo.gl/U5ND2B

Goodreads http://bit.ly/2alCbfM

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00023]

 

Let’s be honest, ladies. A good man is a lot like the perfect car. You want a hot body, an engine that purrs, and superior performance under the hood. You probably also crave a ride that can go all night long.

I’m at your service. Come and ride on my Joy Stick…

That’s what I like to say to the ladies. Or I would if I were total pig. It’s far too easy in this world to strut around like a peacock when you’ve got all these other features in your favor. But just like the custom cars I build with class and sophistication, that’s how I treat my women.

Don’t worry. I absolutely do my best work dirty…both in the shop, and between the sheets. Work and play — that’s what my life has been, and I f&*king love it. I’m completely, 100% driven. Until one woman comes along and throws a wrench in my plans. The one woman I should absolutely, positively never take for a joy ride.

Now that’s all I want to do with her…she’s so far off-limits, but that’s exactly where I want to go with her.

Get ready for a wild ride…

 

JOYSTICKbyLaurenBlakelyJacket

Pre-Order JOY STICK (Coming May 2017)

Exclusive iBooks Pre-Order http://tinyurl.com/JoyStickLB

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30640850-joy-stick

 

MENOFROMCOM

Don’t Miss All of Lauren’s Romantic Comedies written from the Male POV!

BIG ROCK (Now Available)

MISTER O (Now Available)

WELL HUNG (Releasing September 12, 2016)

 

KindleFiregiveaway

 

Lauren Blakely’s Romantic Comedy Celebration!

August 24-September 1, 2016*

Win a Kindle Fire loaded with Lauren Blakely’s complete collection* of currently released titles, as well as some of Lauren’s favorite romantic comedies!

*Does not include WELL HUNG, FULL PACKAGE or JOY STICK, Winner will be announced first week of September.

To enter to win, simply subscribe to Lauren’s newsletter here:

http://www.subscribepage.com/LaurenBlakely

 

DaisyWhitneyLaurenBlakelyheadshot_small

About Lauren Blakely:

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter: laurenblakely.com/newsletter.

Links:

Website: http://www.laurenblakely.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LaurenBlakelyBooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LaurenBlakely3

Newsletter: http://laurenblakely.com/newsletter/

FULL PACKAGE Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30283662-full-package

JOY STICK Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30640850-joy-stick

Lauren Blakely Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6860216.Lauren_Blakely

 

InkSlinger Blogger Final

RELEASE BLITZ: Savage Rebel by Kathleen Kelly

 

 

 

Title: Savage Rebel
Series: Savage Angels MC #6
Author: Kathleen Kelly
Genre: MC/Contemporary/Erotic Romance
 Release Date: August 24, 2016

 

Blurb

 

A Casino. A Rival MC. A Mob Family.Dane, President of the Savage Angels MC Tourmaline Chapter sends Rebel to Las Vegas to negotiate their purchase of a casino. When the local Mob Family in Vegas feels threatened by their presence, a rival MC, The Dark Warriors step in to protect what they consider their territory.

The Warriors are a ruthless club who will stop at nothing in their pursuit of power.

An innocent woman catches Rebel’s attention which serves to give the Warriors a brand new target. Ruby is caught in the crossfire and with a rat in the mix, all bets are off. Will Rebel be able to save his woman and close the Casino deal or will he lose it all to the Dark Warriors?

**Previously published in the Riding Dirty Anthology no longer available**


 

 

Purchase Links
99c
AMAZON US / UK
Also Available
SERIES SALE AUGUST 24-26!!!
AMAZON US / UK
99c
AMAZON US / UK
99c
AMAZON US / UK
$1.99
AMAZON US / UK
$2.99
AMAZON US / UK

 

Author Bio
Kathleen Kelly was born in Penrith, NSW, Australia. When she
was four her family moved to Brisbane, QLD, Australia. Although born in NSW she
considers herself a QUEENSLANDER!!
She married her childhood sweetheart and they live in
Brisbane with their two furry kids. A British Short Hair called Grace and a
Burmese called Jack.
Kathleen enjoys writing contemporary, romance novels with a
little bit of erotica. She draws her inspiration from family, friends and the
people around her. She can often be found in cafes writing and observing the
locals.

If you have any questions about her novels or
would like to ask Kathleen a question she can be contacted via e-mail: kathleenkellyauthor@gmail.com
or she can be found on Facebook.

Author Links

New Release & Review: Prisoned by Marni Mann

PrisonedeBook

Cover Design: MadHat Books

Release Date: August 24, 2016

 

Synopsis

When I opened my eyes, I was in a cell, my body covered in bruises.

Not a jail.

I’d been kidnapped and imprisoned.

I wasn’t alone. I shared the cell with Garin Woods, the man I’d loved since I was a kid.

The man I couldn’t be with because of the secret. A man who would kill me if he found out what that secret was.

Someone wanted to torture me.

Torture us.

One of us deserved it.

It wasn’t Garin.

 

Goodreads

 

 

BUY LINKS

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2bz4BbA

 

IMG_3725

 

 

OUR REVIEW

Title: Prisoned
Author: Marni Mann
Category: Dark
Series or Standalone: Standalone
POV: Heroine’s PoV
Plot: 4
Characters:4
Scorching Level:4
HEA: Not telling

Gritty and full of surprises!!
This book messed with my head! It was full of surprises and twists!
Kyle & Garin took me in a wild ride and made me question everything. The author makes you wonder what is dream and what is reality.
Garin and Kyle have known each other since the time they fought to survive. But a tragic incident drove them apart.
Years later they reunite and they have to face a fate worse than death; they wake up in a cell together. They have no idea why they are there but they know that whoever took them is looking for answers.
Thrust in an adventure full of danger and fear they will have to stick together in order to stay alive.
Who is the real danger here though? Nothing is as it seems.
I liked the way the author switched between the past and the present. I liked seeing the bond between the characters. The writing is fantastic! My only complaint is that the big twist didn’t leave that much of an impact on me. I would have liked a different turn about but despite that, I enjoyed the book.
I recommend it.

Rating: 4 Stars

 

 

 

 

Giveaway

$10 Amazon Gift Card & Signed paperback of Prisoned

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0cba4250297/?

 

 

IMG_3747

 

 

About the Author

Bestselling author Marni Mann knew she was going to be a writer since middle school. While other girls her age were daydreaming about teenage pop stars, Marni was fantasizing about penning her first novel. She crafts sexy, titillating stories that weave together her love of darkness, mystery, passion, and human emotions. A New Englander at heart, she now lives in Sarasota, Florida, with her husband and their two dogs, who have been characters in her books. When she’s not nose deep in her laptop, working on her next novel, she’s scouring for chocolate, sipping wine, traveling, or devouring fabulous books.

 

Connect with Marni

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/Z8b5z

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2ayhI8u

Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2aKxNe4

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2arY2Yt

Twitter: http://bit.ly/2arYBBz

Instagram: http://bit.ly/2aKzvMr

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2avbGb2

 

EXCERPT REVEAL: The Hard Way by Katie Ashley

image01.jpg

Excerpt

Fuuuuuuuuuck! This seriously was not happening. Just when I thought things couldn’t get any worse, apparently the universe didn’t just hate me. It fucking despised me. Not only was I stuck working forty hours a week at this shithole, but now I had the worst blast from my past standing before me. Avery Fucking Prescott.

In every “manwhore with seemingly no soul’s” world, there is one girl he regrets. One girl he thinks about from time to time. One girl he measures all the other ones against. One girl he even cries about when he’s shitfaced.

Mine was Avery Fucking Prescott.

I couldn’t help noticing that the Avery standing in front of me didn’t seem the same. Sure, she still had the same long, dark hair that she swept back in one of those ponytail things. Gone were the glasses, which made it a lot easier to see her green eyes that had flecks of gold in them. Of course, today there was pure and unadulterated hate burning in them directed at me where back in the day, there had been love.

But I had managed to kill that love by being a prick. Yeah, I’m sure you’re thinking that isn’t all too shocking based on the pure stupidity you’ve seen me exhibit so far. The thing is that Avery brought out the good that was buried deep down inside me. The good that you needed a fucking bulldozer to unearth.

While there were slight differences in her appearance, her entire personality seemed different, and no, I don’t mean just about how she hated me with a fiery passion. She wasn’t the wide-eyed, innocent farm girl who seemed so out of place at Harlington Prep. It was like she’d had a personality transplant. It reminded of me of what happened to my older sister, Catherine, the summer she turned fifteen, and my mother sent her off to some glamour school shit to detox the awkward out of her. When she came back a month later, it was like she had become a Stepford Kid. Catherine no longer took the time to play with me. She had “more important” things to do like contouring her brows or preparing for cotillions. Things were never the same between us after that.

My ego couldn’t help wondering if what had happened between us had caused the seismic shift in Avery. Like I’d broken the Old Avery with my actions, and this was what had been rebuilt in its place. But another voice rationalized that unlike me, Avery had probably gotten her shit together in the last three years. College had matured her.

After a few moments of a silent standoff, Avery said, “Hello again, Cade.” Her words might have been polite, but her voice was strained. I could tell it was taking everything within her not to go off on me.

“Oh, you two know each other?” Tammy or Theresa, or whatever the hell her name was, questioned.

Do we know each other? Oh yeah, we know each other. Like in the biblical sense. I can even tell you about the heart-shaped birthmark on the inside of her right thigh.

But I knew I would mortify the hell out of Avery if I said anything like that in front of her boss. So instead, I cocked my brows at Avery for her to take the lead on how she wanted us to respond to that question.

“A little. We went to high school together,” she replied diplomatically. The wounded look that momentarily flashed in her eyes told an entirely different story—the story where I played the villain.

But Tammy didn’t seem to pick up on it. “Well, isn’t it a small world?” she mused.

“Yeah,” Avery and I said in unison.

Tammy smiled at me. “I was just about to sing all of Avery’s praises to you, but since you know her, I don’t need to waste my breath, right?”

“Right,” I muttered.

“Well, then. I’ll leave you two alone to catch up, and for Avery to show you the ropes.”

“Thank you, Tamar,” Avery said politely.

Oh it was Tamar. Shit, I needed to remember that. “Yeah, thanks, Tamar.”

Tamar started out of the door and then stopped. She threw a grin over her shoulder. “Now, Avery, just because you know Cade, you can’t go easy on him. He has a debt to pay to Georgia Tech’s athletic department.”

Avery glared at me before flashing a fake smile at Tamar. “Oh, I promise to make him earn his keep.”

Apparently Tamar wasn’t picking up on the heavy tension between us. “Unfuckingbeliveable,” I muttered under my breath.

“Excuse me?” Avery demanded.

I held up my hands. “Nothing.”

Avery crossed her arms over her chest. “I never thought I’d have to see you again.” She shook her head at me, which caused her ponytail to swish back and forth like a whip. “Yet here you are standing before me. I guess, I must’ve done something epic to piss the universe off this much to put you back in my path.”

Whoa, that was sure as hell not what I was expecting. “I could say the same.”

Her green eyes narrowed to fury-filled slits. “Excuse me? You have some nerve to stand here in front of me and say that considering what you did.”

She was right. Only an epic tool would not immediately apologize for what I did to her. It should have been the first words out of my mouth. And not just to make things run smoothly here at The Ark, but because it was the right thing to do. After all, she had truly been an innocent in the whole fucked up situation of me being an emotionally crippled bastard. I’d let her be tortured by a psychotic chick who thought she belonged to me. I’d humiliated her with my deceptive words and cruel actions. But the greatest of my crimes was I had broken her heart.

But in this instance, I was being King Epic Tool because I couldn’t get those words to come out of my mouth. It wasn’t something I struggled with today. I’d had three years to stay those two words. Hell, I’d started off a hundred texts, but I’d never sent them. I’d even done a few stalkerish drives by her house to say how sorry I was in person, but being an emotional pansy ass, I had never gotten out of the car.

So instead of taking the emotional high road, I went slumming. “It’s been three years, Prescott. You really need to get over that.”

image03.jpg

 

Sports + Bad Boy + Second Chance

The Hard Way by Katie Ashley Releases on August 31st!

Add to your TBR at:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29638484-the-hard-way?from_search=true

image00

Blurb

Cade Hall has always been the golden boy of the gridiron. Because of his talent at football, coupled with his father’s wealth, he’s always gotten his way. But when a night of drunken debauchery lands him in hot water with the college athletic board, neither his influential father nor his charming grin can save him. He finds it a total buzz kill when he is sentenced to community service with troubled youth at an inner-city shelter. But his nightmare is only beginning when his greatest high school regret is the very one in charge of the program, and she has him by the balls in more ways than one.

For Avery Prescott, senior year was a nightmare of epic proportions, and Cade Hall played the lead villain. After she fled her small town for college in the bright lights of Atlanta, she thought she had escaped the painful memories of her past. She never could have imagined Cade would waltz through the door of the outreach program she presided over. But Avery has news for Cade–she isn’t the same shy, doormat of a girl she was in high school. Since she holds Cade’s football future in her hands, she’s more than ready to make payback a real bitch.

Will the two stay in the defensive zone or discover that sometimes life’s greatest lessons are learned the hard way?

image02.jpg


About the Author

image04

Katie Ashley is a New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon Best-Selling author. She lives outside of Atlanta, Georgia with her daughter, Olivia, and her two very spoiled dogs. She has a slight obsession with Pinterest, The Golden Girls, Harry Potter, Shakespeare, Supernatural, Designing Women, and Scooby-Doo.

With a BA in English, a BS in Secondary English Education, and a Masters in Adolescent English Education, she spent 11 1/2 years educating the Youth of America aka teaching MS and HS English until she left to write full time in December 2012.

 Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads   Amazon Page | Pinterest

THANK YOU!

New Release:…Or Something by Debra Kayn

Boost BannerOr Something Ebook Cover

RELEASE BOOST

Title: …or something

Series: Ronacks Motorcycle Club #1

Author: Debra Kayn

Genre: Erotic Contemporary/Motorcycle Club

Release Date: August 16, 2016

 

BLURB

 

He took her away from the carnival.

She was sixteen years old.

Thrust into an unfamiliar way of life with the president of the Ronacks Motorcycle Club; Bree Walsh manifests an unusual connection to the older, sexy, powerful biker until every neglected emotion from her childhood resurfaces. Intense, all-consuming, and unfathomable, Bree pushes the boundaries with Battery only to find herself caught in the most painful and raw existence she’s ever known.

One moment in time changed Battery’s life and set him on a masterminded course that would come full circle before he was ready. The president of Ronacks MC has shaped his life around his club, his family, and Bree. But when everything he’s worked hard to achieve starts crumbling and the dangers become real, he refuses to lose and desperately risks everything, including his obsessive heartache named Bree.

 

 

GOODREADS LINK:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31196570-or-something

 

 

PURCHASE LINKS

 

US: http://amzn.to/2aVN205

UK: http://amzn.to/2bAf86L

iBooks: http://apple.co/2bd5yln

 

 

AUTHOR BIO

 

Bestselling Romance Author, Debra Kayn lives with her family at the foot of the Bitterroot Mountains in beautiful Northern Idaho. She enjoys riding motorcycles, playing tennis, fishing, photography, and creating chaos for the men in the garage.

When Debra was nineteen years old, a man kissed her without introducing himself. When they finally came up for air, the first words out of his mouth were…will you have my babies? Considering Debra’s weakness for a sexy, badass man, who is strong enough to survive her attitude, she said yes. A quick wedding at the House of Amour and four babies later, she’s living her own unbelievable romance book.

 

 

AUTHOR LINKS

 

Website:  http://www.debrakayn.com/

 

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/DebraKaynFanPage

 

 

Blog Tour: Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward

neighbor dearest book tourneighbor dearest(1)

 

Neighbor Dearest is LIVE and on limited-time release sale for $3.99 (Changing to $4.99 after release. This will be the ONLY sale.) A sexy STANDALONE friends-to-lovers story that does NOT have to be read in conjunction with any other book.

AVAILABLE ON ALL RETAILERS:

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2aV9V6F

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2aUDxny

iBooks: http://apple.co/29iqvtJ

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2aT108M

Nook: http://bit.ly/2b6hVkQ

 

 

Blurb

A STANDALONE NOVEL that does NOT need to be read in conjunction with any other book.

From New York Times bestselling author, Penelope Ward, comes a friends-to-lovers story with sexy new characters.

After getting dumped, the last thing I needed was to move next door to someone who reminded me of my ex-boyfriend, Elec.

Damien was a hotter version of my ex.

The neighbor I’d dubbed “Angry Artist” also had two massive dogs that kept me up with their barking.

He wanted nothing to do with me. Or so I thought until one night I heard laughter coming through an apparent hole in my bedroom wall.

Damien had been listening to all of my phone sessions with my therapist.

The sexy artist next door now knew all of my deepest secrets and insecurities.

We got to talking.

He set me straight with tips to get over my breakup.

He became a good friend, but Damien made it clear that he couldn’t be anything more.

Problem was, I was falling hard for him anyway. And as much as he pushed me away, I knew he felt the same…because his heartbeat didn’t lie.

I thought my heart had been broken by Elec, but it was alive and beating harder than ever for Damien.

I just hoped he wouldn’t shatter it for good.

Author’s note – Neighbor Dearest is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

Excerpt

 

 

Copyright © 2016 by

Penelope Ward

 

Looking tense, he placed his hands slowly into his pockets as he looked at me. “What exactly happened last night?”

“What are you talking about?”

Nice try dodging the question.

He moved in closer to me. “What am I talking about? You leaving me with a giant fucking basket of muffins and running off before I could even say anything? Ring a bell?”

“I thought you’d be alone. It caught me off guard.”

His eyes softened. “You were upset…”

“No, I wasn’t.”

“You’re a terrible liar, Chelsea. Fucking horrible at it. You don’t hide your feelings very well.”

“You think you know just about everything there is to know about me, don’t you?”

“Not everything. But it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to read you. It’s one of the things I like about you, though. You’re one of the least fake people I’ve ever met.”

“Then, tell me. Why do you think I was upset?”

“Honestly? I think you’re confused about me.”

“Confused…”

“Yes. I think you’re wondering why I opted not to have dinner with you and instead ended up with a woman I’d literally just met, someone who isn’t as sweet as you and sure as fuck isn’t as pretty as you. So, you’re wondering what the hell I was thinking. Am I right?”

That’s exactly what I was thinking.

He continued, “I know we haven’t known each other for very long, but I do feel a connection with you, okay? If you’ve sensed something, you’re not imagining it.”

“Well, if I wasn’t confused before…now I definitely am.”

“I feel like I need to say this now, because I can’t stand the thought of you thinking that I somehow find you undesirable when it’s exactly the opposite.”

I crossed my arms. “Again. Not following you.”

He closed his eyes as if to try to find the right words. “It’s just that I know for sure that I can’t ever be what someone like you needs in a boyfriend, in a partner. It’s not that we wouldn’t have fun or be great together at first. I’m just not good for you in the long-term—not marriage material. And the reasons are too complex to get into, except to say that it has nothing to do with you and everything to do with me. I can’t, in good conscience, start something with a girl like you.”

“A girl like me…”

“Yes. You’re not the kind of girl a guy takes home for a quick fuck. You’re the girl he keeps.”

Right. Just like Elec did.

 

About the Author:

Penelope Ward

PENELOPE WARD.jpg

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author. She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor, before switching to a more family-friendly career. She is the proud mother of a beautiful 11-year-old girl with autism and a 9-year-old boy. Penelope and her family reside in Rhode Island.

Connect with Penelope Ward:

Stalk Her: Facebook | Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Private Group

Additional Books by Penelope Ward

RoomHate:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/294lIeT
iBooks: http://apple.co/1PgsvE7

Nook: http://bit.ly/1PLGnSL

kobo: http://bit.ly/1POvSnW

Stuck-Up Suit: (co-written with Vi Keeland)

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1S3LnpZ

iBooks: http://apple.co/1Qbwy57

B&N: http://bit.ly/29vrQhV

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/stuck-up-suit

Cocky Bastard: (co-written with Vi Keeland)

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1MvHLg2

iBooks: http://apple.co/1PffE2J

Nook: http://bit.ly/1EjxNpY
Kobo:  http://bit.ly/1UxCSUO
Sins of Sevin:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1F9tbc3

iBooks: http://apple.co/1K8mzGg

Nook: http://bit.ly/1hTKAKE

kobo: http://bit.ly/1OaGY3D
Stepbrother Dearest:

Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1mFNMeg

Nook: http://bit.ly/1taMFjG

iBooks: http://bit.ly/YER0mT

kobo: http://bit.ly/1fJaaBs

Jake Undone (Jake #1):

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1dJrHBC

Nook: http://bit.ly/1obAwJ6

iBooks: http://apple.co/1fJayQ8

kobo: http://bit.ly/1SPKl0M

——————————————————————————–

My Skylar

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1obOG2F

Nook: http://bit.ly/SLO1qi

iBooks: http://bit.ly/SLNOTR

kobo: http://bit.ly/1kNrtAB

Jake Understood (Jake #2):

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1GFdves

Nook: http://bit.ly/1FwJC0z

iBooks: http://apple.co/1DQQwgC

kobo: http://bit.ly/1LQ7Fvk

Gemini:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1vgk1SE

Nook: http://bit.ly/1KfmLHD

iBooks: http://apple.co/1QTaONj

kobo: http://bit.ly/1BGJ2wu

OUR REVIEW:

Title: Neighbor Dearest
Author: Penelope Ward
Category: Romance
Series or Standalone: Standalone
Plot: 5
Characters: 5
Scorching Level: 5
POV: Heroine’s POV
HEA: Not telling

Amazing! Once again, Penelope Ward manages to bring us a story of love, humor and passion!
Chelsea is trying to recover from a very hurtful break-up. A while back she had a boyfriend who loved her, but now Elec is not with her anymore. He left her for another woman.
She tries to move on and forget about the man she loves but it is pointless. She is trapped in the past.
She moves to a new apartment and that is when she meets the mysterious and gorgeous Damien.
Damien is an artist and he doesn’t leave the best first impression. With an attitude that Chelsea hates, he is simply a man to be avoided. His dogs and him are a match sent from hell….or are they not?
Chelsea will find a friend in the beautiful face of a man that until recently annoyed the ever living hell out of her.
Damien is not what he seems. He is full of good advice that Chelsea absolutely needs in a friend. But what happens when the lines get blurred?
Follow these two in a wild ride of complex emotions that will leave you breathless!
I loved, loved this book. The characterization was one of a kind! Penelope Ward delivers a heartfelt story, full of emotion and hope. One of her best books in my opinion! Certainly a book that I would re-read!
I highly recommend it! Do not miss it!B

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers